I was a missionary

Yep, I was a missionary.

Not many people know this about me but it’s true.

10 years ago, I was a bonafide, unqualified, SUPPORTED, evangelical, non-denominational, christian missionary.

My “mission” was a teaching position in the horribly depraved country of… France. What’s worse, it was the south of France, a region infested with lavender, plagued with palms trees and flamingos, known for it’s wild white horses and overbearing sunshine- a truly frightening destination.

Yep, the people in my church actually paid for me to live for a year in France, teaching English at a private Christian school.

I had about 15 students total. I probably spent an average of 2 hours a day teaching. Oh yeah, I also sang as part of my missionary duties (It was a tough gig, but someone had to do it.)

I lived in a beautiful house in the country with 4 french girls who helped me learn the language, taught me the art of making french cuisine, and made me feel a part of their world. I would watch The Little House on the Prairie to improve my french, and I read through the entire shelf of English books in the home’s small library. I had plenty of down time.

At times I was homesick but I was able to go home for Christmas and I was fortunate enough to have my parents and several friends come to visit at different times. I was 21 years old, engaged to be married, and a devout Christian. My future was mapped out and clear. I was a missionary with a wedding on my mind. It was all roses.

Since then I have gotten divorced, lost houses, lost family members, and lost my religion. I have lost myself and then found myself several times, and I hope that I as I get older I am able to tuck away at least a little wisdom into one of my pockets. I’m not sure about everything, but I am sure about some things.

And one thing I am sure of is this: If you get the chance to be a missionary, DO IT!!!!

If you don’t think you’ll get that chance…then here is another way to pay for your travels : ) rainbowvanadventures.com

2 thoughts on “I was a missionary

  1. Sounds gorgeous all that sunshine.. but I know what you mean when you can look back at your life and see that happy time and then all the disasters that followed that leave you broken and wondering… good on you for getting back on your feet and being the inspiring woman you are today!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

